West CAP is proud of its history as an innovative, forward thinking organization.  Established in 1965, West CAP was one of the first community action agencies in Wisconsin. Since then, West CAP has worked to promote the self-sufficiency of low-income families in the rural communities of west central Wisconsin, operating as an equal opportunity employer and service provider.  

Our Mission


To take action against poverty by developing the social and economic assets of low-income families and their communities and by working to create a more just and sustainable society.  


Our Locations

Main Office:

525 2nd St.
Glenwood City, WI 54013

Menomonie Office/ 
Dunn County Housing Authority

1421 Stout Road 

Menomonie, WI  54751
(715) 598-4750
Fax: (715) 235-9241

Food Distribution Center/Pantry

823 Main St.
Boyceville, WI 54725
General: 715-598-4750
 Direct: (715) 280-3238


Our Leadership


(L to R) Tim Mather – Associate Director

Lisa Smith – Finance Director

Peter Kilde – Executive Director

Jessica Rudiger – Human Resources Director

About the Team:

Peter Kilde has been executive director of the West Central Wisconsin Community Action Agency, Inc, (West CAP), since 1995. West CAP has developed and manages multiple low-income housing projects, and operates homelessness intervention programs, weatherization, food security, the JumpStart car ownership program and various sustainable community initiatives. He serves on the national Community Action Partnership Board of Directors, where he co-chairs the Strategic Visions Committee which focuses on how poverty can be most effectively addressed in 21st Century America.
Recipient of the 2013 Charles M. Hill Sr. Award for Housing Excellence, Mr. Kilde is widely recognized for his leadership in affordable housing innovation and energy conservation.
Peter also serves on the Wisconsin Community Action Program Association (WISCAP) Board, the regional Workforce Development Board, and is vice chair and “chair apparent” on the board of Slipstream, a newly named and expanded Wisconsin-based national nonprofit linking energy conservation and social equity. He is also an almost founder and former chair of the St. Croix Valley Foundation Board. Prior to coming to West CAP, Mr. Kilde worked for the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation of St. Paul, Minnesota where for 10 years he was operations director of Wilder Forest, a 1,200-acre conference and education center linking social and environmental concerns.
Tim was hired as West CAP’s Associate Director in August 2021 but has been with West CAP for eight years as the Housing and Facilities Director and manager of the Weatherization Program. Tim has a bachelor’s degree in housing studies and residential building science from the University of Minnesota.

Lisa has worked in the West CAP accounting department since 2001.  She became Finance Director in 2004.  Before coming to West CAP, she worked at McMillan Electric as Cost Accounting Supervisor.  Lisa graduated from Metropolitan State University in Minnesota with a bachelor’s degree in accounting.

Jessica graduated from UW-Stout with a bachelor’s in Human Development and Family Studies, with a concentration in human resource management. She served as Human Resource Manager at West CAP from 1995 until 1999. She then worked in Human Resources at Phillips Plastics, Menomonie and returned to West CAP as Human Resource Manager effective June 11, 2003.

Our Board of Directors

West CAP is governed by a 21 member board of directors. Directors are selected to represent low-income, government and community constituencies in each of the counties we serve. Government representatives are selected by their county board; community representatives are selected by various organizations and businesses; low-income representatives are through a democratic process.

  Barron County Pam Fall

Jonathan Senne


  Chippewa County Kari Ives

Tony Willkom

Dawn Christie

  Dunn County Vaughn Hedlund

Christian Blaisdell

Kwase Golliday

  Pepin County Rita McDonnell

Paul Hoch

Jane Jafferi

  Pierce County Lynn Paatalo

Paula Lugar

Philip Verges, President (6/2020-6/2022)

  Polk County Jay Luke

Todd Groat

Jenna Lokken

Barbara McAfee

  St. Croix County Dave Ostness

Alexandra Hanson

Chris Holtkamp

Greg Tellijohn